Di Resta, Mercedes Claim 2010 DTM Title

By -

Content provided by BenzInsider.com
Di Resta celebrates after clinching the 2010 DTM title

Paul di Resta, in his 2009 AMG Mercedes C-Klasse, took the 2010 Deutsche Tourenwagen Masters series championship. He won 3 races out of the the 11-round series to clinch the title. Mercedes-Benz flexed its automotive muscle as it won 9 of the races in the series.

Di Resta was driving for the HWA Team, which also sported runner-up
Gary Paffett and third placer Bruno Spengler. Paffett was the race
winner for the last race at the Shanghai Street Circuit in Pudong
district, China.

In winning the title, di Resta accumulated 71 total points while
Paffett totaled 67 and Spengler had 66. Di Resta won at Brands Hatch in
Kent, at Motorsport Arena Oschersleben and at Hockenheimring (races 7
through 9) and placed second in three other races. The entire HWA Team
were driving 2009 AMG Mercedes C-Klasse cars. Timo Scheider, driving an
Audi A4 DTM 2009 for Abt Sportsline, was the fourth placer with 53

It is Mercedes’ 10th driver’s champion since entering DTM back in
1988. For di Resta, it was his first DTM championship. His closest
finish previously was as a runner up in 2008. “I am really happy about
my DTM title win, a dream came true,” di Resta said. “I thank my entire
team and everybody at Mercedes-Benz for this great season.”

Teams are using 2008 and 2009 cars because the event is currently under a development freeze, which will be in place until 2011.

Comments ()