Notices
A45, A35 AMG (W176, W177) 2013 to present. Two generations
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Problems since washing engine bay oh no!!

Old 05-28-2018, 03:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A45 AMG
Problems since washing engine bay oh no!!

Hi Guys,

Newbie here, it's a shame its taken something to go wrong before registering but here we are. Can't wait to get involved on the forum.

I have quite an expensive hobby of detailing my A45 Beast weekly, my neighbour who is also a keen came across while I was tinkering and as we were talking about the car asked to see under the bonnet, he was admiring the engine etc but then suggested I detailed the engine bay as it let it down being a little grubby, I've only probably looked under the bonnet twice since owning the car since November so didn't really see much point but today whilst giving it a clean I thought what the heck I'l get it gleaming and dress the engine bay. He said new cars these days are fine with a bit of water and won't have any problems giving it a once over with the hose or jet wash and some APC.

So I used the hose on a fine mist setting, rinsed and brushed in some APC, rinsed again then blow dried with my sidekick. When it came to putting the car in the garage I started the engine and immediately knew something was wrong, it was making spluttering and choking noises before cutting out. I re started the engine left it running for a good 10 minutes before taking it out for a little drive to see if it had fixed itself. Noticed it lacked power straight away, it wouldn't go above 3K Rpm and the engine light is on every time I start the car. Also to mention it keeps making strange fan noises even though the engine is off, ignition is off and car is fully locked in the garage.

Anyone have a clue what could be wrong ? I have my fingers crossed that in the morning I will start the car and it will all be ok lol or am I being too hopeful? Is it a trip to Mercedes ?