C-Class (W202) 1995-2000: C 200 CDI, C 220 CDI, C 270 CDI, C 180, C 200 K,C 230 K, C 220, C230, C 280

Newbie Benz Owner Needs BayArea Camber Advice

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-18-2003, 03:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
03 ML350
Newbie Benz Owner Needs BayArea Camber Advice

Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie Benz owner who bought a 99 C230K that was lowered with Eibach Pro-Kit springs. The owner had 18" wheels put on at the same time but blew out two and put the stock tires back on (I think they were Perilli 16" b/c he got the sport package originally). Now that I own the car, I took it in to replace 2 of the tires at a local Wheelworks and when I got an alignment done they of course said I needed a camber and caster(?) kit for the front and rear. According to the printout, the camber readings were as follows(hope I'm putting this down correctly):

-2.4 degrees front left
-2.1 degrees front right
-2.2 rear left
-2.4 rear right.

Now this is already after the original owner had an alignment done at the MB dealership in early April 2003 along with the factory service so I guess I'm worried the alignment is already so out of whack after less than 3 months of driving?

After doing some searching in this group, there seems to be 2 opinions/option:
a) pay $700 for K-MAC camber kits (though I don't know if this covers the caster part) or
b) get those 4 camber bolts from Mercedes that run about $7.5 apiece and throw those on, call it a day and then see if that helps and I don't wear through all 4 tires in the next year?

I'm primarily driving the car within the SF BayArea and average about a 1,000 miles/month.

Tpliquid/Soldsep/Scorchie - any advice?

Thx for any input as I don't want to have to shell out $500+ on tires + alignment in a year or so if I go with one of the 2 options.

I don't think the original shocks were replaced so am thinking about the Bilstein shocks but right now the ride seems pretty good.

Thx again....
Betty
Old 06-18-2003, 11:26 AM