MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   C-Class (W204) (https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w204-83/)
-   -   DIY: Rear-View Camera under $200 (https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w204/266988-diy-rear-view-camera-under-200-a.html)

white46 10-27-2008 02:54 PM

DIY: Rear-View Camera under $200
 
Cut all the intro crap, I will just get into the steps. :D

1.Things to buy
- camera. lol I bought Kenwood CCD-2000 from ebay for $150.
- RCA extension cable. 6ft should be good enough. $10
- 2002 and up REVERSE VW/BMW antenna adapter (EURO A107) $15
(make sure you get REVERSE adapter)
- RCA female plug only (bought it from CircuitCity) $5


2. Before you do anything, enable Back up camera option on HU.

Originally Posted by theinmoe (Post 3089298)
At center command, press and hold 3 buttons, " hang up , 1 and #. You will see Eng menu in LCD. Go to (option 7, sub menu 7) HU parameter and enable backup camera install.
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1223169479

https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...2&d=1223169479

if you got this part working, then proceed to next step.


3. Make AUX input cable that fits back of HU.
- cut one side of antenna adapter
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1223773105

- closer look
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1223773105

- Solder the wire and RCA plug.
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1223773105

- from Back of HU, connect it to the green plug.
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1223773105

From this point, there isn't much to tell you.
There are 2 GREAT posts on how to install the camera.
https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w204/262634-diy-rear-camera-install-w-pics-centered-location.html
and
https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w204/254208-diy-i-ve-unleashed-cyclops.html

Jus pick the one you like and follow their step. :D
I went with 'Rick Hunter's way. I didn't like to feed RCA extension cable through headliner. But it's personal preferance anyways.

Mine works like charm. :y

aprince2die4 10-27-2008 03:17 PM

quick question
 
do you still need to install the VIM for this to work?

white46 10-27-2008 03:23 PM


Originally Posted by aprince2die4 (Post 3132321)
do you still need to install the VIM for this to work?

NO
Rear-view camera has nothing to do with VIM.

Ron Jr 10-27-2008 04:08 PM

RCA extension cable

Audio or video (RG-58) cable?

BTW great DIY I hope to maybe do it this weekend. :bow:

Also this may sound like a stupid question how do you get the head unit out of the dash? Thanks.

mb_horseshoe 10-27-2008 04:09 PM

where do you buy the antenna adapter?

Ron Jr 10-27-2008 04:11 PM


Originally Posted by mb_horseshoe (Post 3132450)
where do you buy the antenna adapter?

That I can help with. Any good car audio store should have them in stock

white46 10-27-2008 04:19 PM


Originally Posted by Ron Jr (Post 3132446)
RCA extension cable

Audio or video (RG-58) cable?

BTW great DIY I hope to maybe do it this weekend. :bow:

Also this may sound like a stupid question how do you get the head unit out of the dash? Thanks.

it's rca video cable since we are not dealing with any sound. I happend to found one at home just collecting dust. :)

this is all you need for disassemble.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_5Fkawy-_g

white46 10-27-2008 04:51 PM

make sure you TEST

mb_horseshoe 10-27-2008 05:01 PM


Originally Posted by Ron Jr (Post 3132459)
That I can help with. Any good car audio store should have them in stock

is it the EU-10, EU-20, or EU-30?

white46 10-27-2008 05:09 PM


Originally Posted by mb_horseshoe (Post 3132577)
is it the EU-10, EU-20, or EU-30?

i edited my original post.
it's 2002 and up VW antenna adapter. NOT 2000.

2bShawn 10-27-2008 11:13 PM

Just wanted to add my 2 cents for your DIY, great job...Just did mine last weekend. You can save a little hassle by ordering the FAKRA to RCA connector from Mid-City for $21+shipping, I used a 12' RCA connector, just enough if you follow the truck mounted DIY https://mbworld.org/forums/showthrea...57#post3074757 (THANKS TO RICK & VADAR SS)
Also you can see the whole install done by mid-city (only difference is they use their VIM) this is a great resource because it's tricky getting the vent out and the clips to release the COMAND unit.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_5Fkawy-_g
The Mid-City guys were also very cool about helping out.
Cost total about $200, plus 4hrs for the install.

killacam7479 10-28-2008 12:38 AM

Alright, so the only thing Im really scared about is installing the actual camera and running lines to the front of the car. Would a place like Circuit City, who installs 3rd party backup cams, install it for me?

Rick Hunter 10-28-2008 01:08 AM

THUMBS UP from Rick Hunter :y:y:y

Nice to see another DIY to an option that should have been offered standard from the dealer in the first place.

So the installation really was THAT easy, eh! :D

white46 10-28-2008 01:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by Rick Hunter (Post 3133479)
THUMBS UP from Rick Hunter :y:y:y

Nice to see another DIY to an option that should have been offered standard from the dealer in the first place.

So the installation really was THAT easy, eh! :D

Thank you. :D

btw, I wired the grounding to little different place.
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...1&d=1225171359

mb_horseshoe 10-28-2008 04:34 PM

just bought the fakra adapter and the camera. going to do this as soon as the parts come. thanks for the write-up!

Saks_C350_Sport 10-28-2008 07:01 PM

Am I the only one seeing red Xs for the pix in the original post ?

na011 10-29-2008 03:03 PM

You need to use MS Internet Explorer Browser. When I use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browser I also have the "red x".

jstaneff 10-29-2008 03:13 PM


Originally Posted by na011 (Post 3137117)
You need to use MS Internet Explorer Browser. When I use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browser I also have the "red x".

Not quite true. I'm using a current version of Firefox and seeing the pic just fine!

Saks_C350_Sport 10-29-2008 06:35 PM

I am using MS IE and still have no pix.

white46 10-29-2008 09:00 PM

pm me with your email address. i will send them to you.

RLE 10-30-2008 12:52 AM

RED X
 

Originally Posted by na011 (Post 3137117)
You need to use MS Internet Explorer Browser. When I use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browser I also have the "red x".

Just log in again. Happens sometimes. Firefox 3.03

Ron Jr 10-30-2008 07:47 AM

Clear your cache.

jstaneff 10-30-2008 10:00 AM

Looking at the page source, this is the first image:
https://mbworld.org/forums/attachmen...p;d=1223169479

(redisplayed with included spaces so you can see the whole thing: ...
h ttp:// www.mbworld.org/ forums/ attachment.php?attachmentid=140801&d=122316947 9

How it works is like this: It's identifying an image that is supposed to be displayed, IF you are authorized to see it. If you take this http: address to a different browser window, and use it as the page address, it will immediately ask you to log in. After that, it will display the first image. (There are two.)

Once you do log in, it thanks you for logging in, then displays the photo. So, entering this http address results in the forum software going through 3 screens. When you are logged in as a normal user, this is all "automatic", but it can help explain why pages sometimes load slowly.

If you're not seeing the photo, then essentially you're not logged in. If you think you're logged in (e.g., there is a welcome message near the top that has your login name on it), then there might be an error in your account.

I don't know if clearing the cache is useful. You could try different browsers, or a different computer. I can see this photo from IE or Firefox, but I have to be logged in first.

RLE 10-30-2008 04:08 PM

IE?
 

Originally Posted by na011 (Post 3137117)
You need to use MS Internet Explorer Browser. When I use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browser I also have the "red x".

Friends don't let friends use MS stuff.

cbcharlie 10-30-2008 07:48 PM

Can this void any warranties?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands