C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Clutch not Covered Under Warranty?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-06-2011, 08:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2008 C300 Manual
Clutch not Covered Under Warranty?

I have followed these boards for a long time but rarley post. However, I now need everyone's help. I leased a 2008 C300 6-speed manual. When the car was 1 month old with 500 miles I needed to replace one of the engine lifters, which I wasn't too happy about. Now my vehicle has 28,000 miles, and while driving the other day the clutch pedal became very stiff and i was unable to shift into any gear. I had the car towed to the dealership where I purchased the vehicle and was told I had burned out the clutch and this would not be covered under the warranty. The warranty statre the powertrain is covered for 50k miles? I have been driving manual's for 10 years and have never had to replace a clutch before 100k miles. The dealer is claiming the clutch was not defective and i caused it to burn out. The car felt fine and never showed any signs of clutch issues. The car has been babied since day 1, with no abuse. I am sticking to my guns on this one but don't know what to do? Any ideas/suggestions? Thanks
Old 01-06-2011, 08:57 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 28 Likes on 16 Posts
2008 C300 Sport 6 Speed Manual, 1953 Chevy Bel-Air, 2015 Audi allroad, 1963 Chevy Apache
I feel your pain. I have had over a dozen manual cars in my life and have never even needed to replace a clutch or had any problems with one even with putting over 100K on three of the 13....ahh the life of a salesman. lol