C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Maintenance on brakes (specifically caliper clip on C350)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-08-2016, 02:17 PM

Received 50 Likes on 47 Posts
Factory ordered 2012 MB C350 w/Dynamic Handling Package
Maintenance on brakes (specifically caliper clip on C350)

Hey folks,

My 2012 C350 is nearing its 60k mile maintenance window, and my brake pad wear indicator also just happened to turn on. Since I was planning on doing the maintenance myself (including the spark plugs), I figure I'll do the brake pads (including bleeding the lines) as well. But before I begin, just a few questions...

#1 When the wear pad indicator turns on, how do we know if it is for the front vs the rear? This is my first time dealing with electronic wear sensors and I was wondering if there is more to it or it is just a general indicator to check the brakes overall? I ended up buying Akebono pads for all 4, but it would be nice to know more about it moving forward in the event I only want to replace 2.

#2 How do I properly remove the front brake caliper clip without breaking the caliper plate off. I've seen a few W204 DIY videos, but none of them had caliper plate covers and I would really like to avoid this...https://mbworld.org/forums/c-class-w...e-caliper.html

In the event you don't know what I'm talking about...

Picture 1 shows caliper plate in tact with clip on the right side of the plate.

Picture 2 shows caliper plate missing with the clip still in place.

I can only assume the reason for the missing plates is because whoever replaced the pads broke the plate off by accident?

Any inside tips would be appreciated.
Old 02-09-2016, 11:02 PM

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
2008 C300
Originally Posted by edgalang
Hey folks,