C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Amg C55 Staying At High Rpm While Driving?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-14-2007, 01:37 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C55 AMG
Amg C55 Staying At High Rpm While Driving?

Was up Guys. I am new to this form, i just picked up a new C55 AMG and i must say before i did that i got most of my info from this site and you guys really know what ur talking about, the car is AMAZING, i just parted with my supercharged G35 done by Stillen, which was alot of fun but moved on.

Well after driving the car i noticed that the RPMs stays at a high rate even not full throttling, when i mean high it stays at the 3000 3200 mark with a rar.
as well when i drive at a slow paste acceleration its changes gear at same peak.

does any one else experience the same thing is that normal?
your insight please.

Thanks. -blackroof

Last edited by BLACKROOF C55; 06-14-2007 at 01:44 AM.
Old 06-14-2007, 08:08 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
08 M5, 06 X3, 05 C55
I just got a C55 a month ago as well and noticed something similar. It seems when you accelerate quickly and then let off the gas... the car tends to stay in the higher RPM range for a couple seconds before upshifting.

if you're accerlating slowly, it shouldn't be shifting so high all the time.
Old 06-14-2007, 08:31 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

C55 AMG, 135i, 911 GT3, GLE43 AMG
That is normal, especially if you've been driving fast (lots of throttle) in S mode. The transmission is adaptive and will automatically hold the gear and delay upshifts to keep the engine at higher rpm's so you can get instant power if you want to. However, if you drive more sedately, it will revert to a more relaxed shift mode and upshift at lower rpm's. Remember, you can always manually upshift or downshift with the gear lever or buttons on the back anytime you want if you want more control. If you want complete control, move into M mode.