C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Considering a C32 AMG, will I miss my 05 GTO?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-24-2009, 01:52 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C32 AMG
Considering a C32 AMG, will I miss my 05 GTO?

Now, I have been driving the 05 GTO for about 4 years now and have loved every minute of it. 6 speed, 400 hp LS2. understated but IMHO a very good looking car in person and had a terrific interior, best GM seats ever. however, it has 2 doors and a tiny trunk.

So, I have been eyeing a used C32. power is pretty similar but the auto and lack of an LSD bother me. I have road coursed the GTO often, will I have the same fun with the merc? also the GTO has been rather trouble free, some of the electronic issues with C32s seem to concern me. Also it seems the AIR pump and radiator(!) is a common replacement? How about the rear main seal?

any information you guys can provide would be awesome.

Last edited by Loth; 06-24-2009 at 01:56 AM.
Old 06-24-2009, 09:26 AM

Received 4 Likes on 1 Post
2019 E63s AMG
Not to many electronic issues with the C32... you will most likely replace the IC Pump and the supercharger bearing if its making noise ...

Drop 15g on a nice, well maintained C32, then another 3500 for programming, pulley kit, Johnson IC Pump, Headers and a proper Quaife LSD and your in business. You will have a 320-340RWHP freak of nature that will creature comfort you to wishing you went to the Merc way before the GTO.
Old 06-24-2009, 09:43 AM

C32 AMG
Thanks for the reply. What is the stock RWHP on these cars? my goat puts down around 350 rwhp. can the C32 enter the 400 rwhp realm easily? how wide of a front wheel can the c32 handle; stock and with coilovers?

Also, I am trying to find any pictorial or actual diagrams of the c32 suspension layout (front and rear).

Last edited by Loth; 06-24-2009 at 09:56 AM.
Old 06-24-2009, 10:38 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
02 CLK 55 AMG,09 C63 loaded with P30
Originally Posted by Loth