Newbie here.... Advice Please.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-17-2013, 02:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C32 AMG
BAS/ESP/ABS Faults & Servicing???

Hi all.

I'm new to this forum and new to Mercedes. I recently purchased a C32 AMG after doing all the research. I've got quite few plans to work on it, but first thing will be a complete service. The car is a due an A service in 1k miles, but I'm planning on doing a B service just for peace of mind.

So what would people recommend. Should I stick with all dealer parts and dealer recommended Mobil 1 oil, or are there better options to go for? Also would it be a good idea to get the gearbox serviced and the diff?

I'm also planning on lowering the car on good quality coilovers and I wanted to know if Mercedes Alphards would fit onto the car. The size of the alphards are 18x8.5 and 9.5, the offset at the front is 35, so if I'm correct will need a small spacer to clear the brakes. The rears should be fine. However I have learnt that the alphards use different bolts(M14 x 1.5), where the C32 alloys are M12x1.5. Can someone explain what the difference is between these bolts and if it makes a difference to fitting.

Thanks in advance.

Last edited by bedumon; 01-19-2013 at 03:31 PM.
Old 01-18-2013, 01:15 PM
Super Moderator

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
THE C350
I would stick to only approved oils for engine, transmission, dif ect...
what mileage is on the car?
Old 01-18-2013, 03:45 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 27 Likes on 24 Posts
eclectic assortment of cars
Spoke design is also a factor in brake clearance, not just offset. Best to test fit and see. However, if memory serves, the Alphards came with SLs which may have had similar brakes to the ones on C32s/55s, so they might just well clear without spacers.