C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

Should I save this C43???

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2016, 01:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I save this C43???

Some history...

Used to own a beautiful C36 AMG, but had to sell and ended up leaving the forums for a while, for personal...ahem...reasons (hence the username). Was really sad to have to had let go of the old girl, now i'm back in a better position finally and would love to upgrade to a 43 (i'm just a fan of the 202, other mercs are nice...clk63 amg black....hmmm, but until i become a baziollionaire...C43 AMG....DROOOL....)

I'll be the first to admit, I'm no mechanic so I know I'll have to be o.k. with an 18 year old car that may not be perfect, which is fine.

So i'm looking at a few cars.

So I found a car located in the south on sale for just a shade under $5k.

I had a pre-purchase inspection (thank god) done. Now before anyone says "head for the hills," a couple of things. I'm most likely gonna use it as a daily and I live in a northern state here in the US (ahem, snow and salt), so i'm asking for opinions...granted all of which are subjective, but I really would like to call on those of you who've got good to great knowledge of these cars and costs associated.

A caveat, I tend to lean more towards keeping the car mechanically sound and reliable, of course, if mechanically speaking the car is easy to get up to speed, I wouldn't mind trying to get the exterior as close to 8 out of 10 as possible.

So here's a snapshot...

99 C43 AMG - at just a shade over 100k miles....$5k

Summary from my inspector...

"This looks to be a below average vehicle needing work. "

and a few of the more important things IMO that need the most immediate attention...

Engine is seeping oil from the underside, will need to be cleaned off to verify source of the leak. Block is at least one quart low on oil.

The transmission shifts well and lock up seems to be fine.