C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

C63 MCT comparison with M3 DCT

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-26-2011, 10:01 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2012 C63 AMG, 2012 C300 4matic, 2008 E92 M3
Originally Posted by gthal
I think you are right... it's too bad though that they don't offer the true DCT that is in the SLS as an option. I would definitely fork over the extra cash for it.
In addition, BMW usually put their latest technology in their M3. Unlike in MBZ, the C AMG will usually get it last for all AMGs. Am I wrong or is it just my perception? I am just starting to learn and know the details of MBZ AMG.

Anyway, when I started this thread, I was on the fench to get the 2012 C63 AMG. I was over it and enjoying my new ride so far. The MCT vs DCT is not a deal breaker for me as I know the main purpose of getting the C AMG. The whole package is the main thing for me.
Old 10-26-2011, 11:08 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 62 Likes on 43 Posts
C63 BS, GLA45
Originally Posted by izzyAMG
So as I learn more about the MCT being inferior to Dual clutch designs in theory. But Why? why would Mercedes put it's design effort on a system that would be referred by enthusiast as less than a Dual clutch design?
Also is the MCT More similar to the IS-F transmission design? I heared that it is a great transmission but still a torque converter.
Drive the MCT with a dual clutch back to back, and you'll realize how close they are in terms of feel and performance.

The MCT is a stopgap solution for Mercedes until their in-house dual clutch transmission is ready for production.
Old 10-26-2011, 12:46 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2012 C63 coupe
Originally Posted by rage2
Drive the MCT with a dual clutch back to back, and you'll realize how close they are in terms of feel and performance.

The MCT is a stopgap solution for Mercedes until their in-house dual clutch transmission is ready for production.