MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   C63 AMG (W204) (https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w204-93/)
-   -   45 hr Detail by me (https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w204/577557-45-hr-detail-me.html)

chrisridebike8 03-10-2015 12:10 PM

45 hr Detail by me

24 Attachment(s)
This winter, my project was to do a full correction on my paint and then apply Optimum Gloss Coat. I've watched all the Ammo NYC videos and whatnot, and my buddy is a professional detailer. I took my time and made sure things were done to my liking. I figured I would just make a little writeup of what I did. I am by no means a professional detailer.

Tools used:
-Griot's 6 inch DA
-Rupes 15 w/5 inch backing plate
-Griot's 3 inch DA
-Home Depot Halogen work lights
-2 6 inch Meguiar's Microfiber Cutting Pads
-4 3 inch Meguiar's Microfiber Cutting Pads
-1 Hex Logic yellow foam cutting pad
-2 5.5 inch Meguiar's Microfiber Cutting Pads
-2 4 inch Lake Country orange foam polishing pads
-1 4 inch Lake Country black foam finishing pad
-1 6 inch Lake Country orange foam polishing pad
-1 6 inch Lake Country black foam polishing pad
-about 20 16x16 Griot's MF towels (available at Advance Auto Parts)
-Bottle of 15% IPA solution
-1 32 oz Bottle of CarPro Eraser (WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!)
-3 grey foam OptiCoat applicators
-1 10mL tube of Optimum Gloss Coat (5ml used)
-1 Mother's Clay bar kit (Next time I will try Nanoskin AutoScrub or a finer clay)
-Menzerna FG400
-Menzerna SI1500
-Menzerna SF4000
-automotive painter's tape

Things I wish I had:
-Flex 3401 w/pads to support it.
-Climate controlled garage.
-15 sets of arms.