MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   C63 AMG (W204) (https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w204-93/)
-   -   PSA: Wash Your Air Filters (https://mbworld.org/forums/c63-amg-w204/667150-psa-wash-your-air-filters.html)

BHimself 05-20-2017 02:11 PM

PSA: Wash Your Air Filters

1 Attachment(s)
So, I've been running AFE Pro Dry S Filters in my c63's since 2012. I'll admit I was a little lax on OCD-level maintenance, just giving this set a visual inspection for the last year-ish...Meaning, I was checking them every 7-10k miles, wiping them off, and cleaning/wiping off the airbox itself, but not much else.

My car has been down for advanced repairs, so since these were out, I figured I'd give them a good rinsing, even though they looked visually fine.
Well, This was after a full hold-under-the-faucet-type rinse, and 1 previous soak-in-the-sink-type rinse.
Yikes.

After the 3rd time, I started to wonder if I was somehow dissolving some paint layer...

Obviously though, a visual inspection wasn't doing its job.

Hopefully this'll motivate some of y'all do get on the basic maintenance items that we all put off.

Cheers,

latinskllz 05-25-2017 12:41 AM

Thanks for the reminder, I have to clean mine out after 6k miles.

C SEXY 3 05-25-2017 01:52 PM

Best method I've had is using some oxiclean and letting it soak for 10-15 minutes then rising off. Dirt comes right out.

Adi-Benz 05-25-2017 04:30 PM

Originally Posted by C SEXY 3 (Post 7160203)
Best method I've had is using some oxiclean and letting it soak for 10-15 minutes then rising off. Dirt comes right out.

Haven't heard this before, sounds interesting. The oxiclean doesn't f something up?

chrisridebike8 05-29-2017 02:57 AM

Originally Posted by Adi-Benz (Post 7160410)
Haven't heard this before, sounds interesting. The oxiclean doesn't f something up?