MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   CL-Class (W215) (https://mbworld.org/forums/cl-class-w215-6/)
-   -   Cl600 intermittent starting issue (https://mbworld.org/forums/cl-class-w215/428004-cl600-intermittent-starting-issue.html)

stowaski44 12-21-2011 05:42 PM

Cl600 intermittent starting issue

Hey guys I am new to a 2002 cl600. Sometimes I am getting issues trying to start it. Most of the time the car starts no issues. However on occasion when I turn the key I get power but it won't crank. Doesn't even sound like the starter gets engaged just replaced both batteries in the key and the keycard. I don't believe it's the battery since if you wait an hour (or so sometimes even after a couple of minutes) the car will start just fine. No bas lights or CEl codes. Looking for any ideas or experiences before I throw new parts at it. I don't want this beautiful car to leave me stranded one day

biker349 12-21-2011 06:43 PM

maybe check you ground wires.

nlieber 12-21-2011 09:41 PM

Two other possibilities are:
1.crank position sensor
2. cam position sensor

If you are not covered by warranty search around for best pricing. These are fairly easy to change out and doing it yourself can save hundreds.

stowaski44 12-22-2011 01:53 AM

i read about the cam and crank sensor but the cars usually affected by those issues crank and don't start. Mine won't even crank sometimes. Tonight when i got home i unlocked it and it started up just fine. turned off and on several times and no issues. I'm thinking biker349 is right about a possible ground issue..just don't know where to start. All of your responses are greatly appreciated.. just hope someone out there has had a similar issue and resolved it

ch33sehead 12-22-2011 07:37 AM

You may want to look at the wires going to your front right fuse box area. Especially the ones going to the engine computer.

stowaski44 12-22-2011 07:04 PM

Will check those out. Thanks

stowaski44 01-13-2012 12:26 AM