CL55 AMG, CL65 AMG, CL63 AMG (C215, C216) 2000 - 2014 (Two Generations)

CL65 sure heats up FAST

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-04-2018, 10:50 AM

Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts
cl65
CL65 sure heats up FAST

I'm still very new to this car but I've noticed that it seems to heat up FAST. Just yesterday I started the car and let it run for maybe 10 minutes in my driveway to check some things and it was already up to operating temperature (a little past 80 degrees Celsius). I then turned off the car the and touch the metal engine cover and it was already HOT. The whole time it idled in the driveway the hood was open. Is this normal? Seems like the intercoolers heat up so fast they would be warming up the intake air instead of cooling it. I don't have any check engine codes and the coolant is topped off. Just wondering, as this amazing car is still so new to me.

I've also recorded some engine sounds on my phone that I would like the groups help with but I'm not sure how to upload them. What is the best method?

Thanks again.
Old 06-04-2018, 11:45 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 78 Likes on 64 Posts
05 CL65
The intercooler's will warm up quick because sitting still with no cooling fan running there is NO airflow over the heat exchanger. The system is pretty decent at high speed but sucks for sitting still. I installed a Killer Chiller and bypassed the stock H/E and my intercooler's will get ice on them at idle.
Old 06-05-2018, 01:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 328 Likes on 265 Posts
2006 S600
Originally Posted by WikedV12
I'm still very new to this car but I've noticed that it seems to heat up FAST.
And cools down slowly!