CL55 AMG, CL65 AMG, CL63 AMG (C215, C216) 2000 - 2014 (Two Generations)

CL55 AMG V8 Kompressor oil change - HELP neded!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-25-2019, 07:38 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
2007 SL55 P030, 2005 CL55 AMG
Exclamation CL55 AMG V8 Kompressor oil change - HELP neded!

Hello everyone and greetings from Israel

Recently i become the proud owener of a much loved CL55 AMG V8 Kompressor.

As i have the intention of doing by myself an oil & filter change on this car, i find some things a bit confusing. Maybe one of you more expirenced guy's here can make things clear for me. Any help would be much appreciated.

First of all let me start by saying that by all means i am not a pro in auto repairs/maintanence but things that are not to complicated i like to do on my own, and also save some cash as a bonus. It's also the first time i am operating on an M113K engine.

In all those years of servicing my cars at the MB dealers and from talking with some mechanics, i understood that MB recomands sucking the oil out of the engine instead of draining it by removing the bolt on the oil pan (i allready have an oil extractor). I was explained the reason is by using an oil extractor you will be able take all the oil out of the engine, maybe I am wrong but this is what i was explained.

In all of youtube i cant find even one CL55 Kompressor oil change video, insted there are lots of E55 Kompressor video's. In non of them i saw the use of an extractor, and everyone were draining the oil.

Things started to get confusing when I asked a youtuber guy after watching one of his video’s about an oil change on an E55 (He drained the oil by removing the 2 bolts on the oil pan). He stated in his answer to me that, MB recomands draining out the oil out and not suctioning it. That the M113K engine has 2 bolts which means the oil pan is chambered, this is why sucking the oil is not suitble for this engine and only way taking all the oil out is by drainage.