Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-02-2018, 09:06 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2018 CLA45 AMG
Coding a second ECU for my CLA45

(X-posted to mercedescla.org)

Guys,

I’m getting the itch to get an ECU tune for my ‘18 CLA45, but I’m thinking it would make sense to pick up a spare ECU to modify, and keep my original for trips to the dealer. The thing is, I understand that a different ECU, even with the same part number, needs to be coded to your vehicle in order to work, and only an M-B dealer can do this.

My question is, do dealers readily do this? It’s like saying, “I intend to mod my car.” Has anyone done this? Did the dealer give you a rough time or just void your warrantee? How did you frame the request?

I’m a big boy and I’ve been modding turbo cars for 18 years, and I understand that you have to be prepared to suck up and operate out-of-warrantee, but if possible, I’d like to be able to quickly revert to stock for fairly obvious reasons.

I’d appreciate any input.

Thanks.

Last edited by Acciardi; 08-02-2018 at 09:08 AM. Reason: Fix typo
Old 08-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
You gotta know the terminology before you do something as stupid as you want to do--------first it's called flashing a module, second the new and not used ECU must be the same part number or you will be back whining my new toy wont start, third if you purchase a same part number used, the module first has to be virginized and then flashed with your engines cbf file,forth you need someone with the latest version of Xentry and applicable files to do the flashing----don't use your girlfriends brother.
The following users liked this post:
Acciardi (08-02-2018)
Old 08-02-2018, 08:11 PM

2018 CLA45 AMG