CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

1999 CLK 430 sometimes wont crank! please help

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-08-2018, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 clk 430
1999 CLK 430 sometimes wont crank! please help

Hi, like I said before Im a new Mercedes owner and still learning how it works, the problem that I'm starting to have is that the car sometimes wont crank, it takes two or three times to turn on. I check the battery and the alternator using the climate control menu and they are okay, just want to know before get in the issue that my car wont crank at all, what are my options ( fuses or parts ) that I need to check or change, I know this issue has been posted before but couldn't understand, so please be patient and guide me step by step,

Thanks for your help! BTW if anyone have a question about cellphones I'm a technician and would like to offer my little knowledge and help you, I know this is not the right forum but no one knows when you need it.
Old 10-09-2018, 05:09 PM

Received 37 Likes on 34 Posts
Have you changed the battery in the key?
The following users liked this post:
Ellioth Zombye (10-09-2018)
Old 10-09-2018, 06:30 PM

1999 clk 430
No I haven't, But that is a good start. will post results ...
Old 10-09-2018, 07:32 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 190 Likes on 170 Posts
2001 CLK320 Cabrio

Ellioth........in order for your car to start, the the drive authorization system (DAS) must be working properly, which is explained in great detail, in the above document.

Unfortunately, diagnosing, trouble shooting and repair of the DAS system is not a DIY endeavor, as it requires specialized knowledge and equipment (e.g. MB STAR diagnostic software, breakout boxes etc.).