Detailing & Automotive Care Use this forum to discuss detailing, cleaning and automotive care to maintain the beauty in your Mercedes-Benz.

Did I get the right products?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-27-2008, 10:49 PM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'08 C350 Sport
Question Did I get the right products?

I just got the '08 C350 Sport black on black last week and to show love for my baby, I purchased some detailing stuff from amazon. Since I'm a BIG NOOB, I hope I ordered the right stuff. If you experienced members could guide me, I would be greatly appreciative.

My persona: I'm willing to put forth time into detailing my car for an hour or two, once a month to cost-effectively achieve the maximum potential results (gloss and protection are my priorities). Of course, in the beginning, I'd like to spend several hours giving it the best care but after, I'd like to routinely follow-up monthly with a simple wash to maintain cleanliness. I'm thinking of waxing every 6 months? I did quite a bit reading but I have no clue on physically getting down and dirty.

What I ordered:

Meguiar's Complete Car Care Kit

Meguiar's X2020 Supreme Shine Microfiber - Pack of 3

Meguiar's X3002 Microfiber Wash Mitt

Absorber 51149 The Absorber Chamois 27" x 17"

Detailer's Choice 12-Piece Microfiber Cleaning Kit

Grit Guard Insert

Tire/Wheel Brush Kit

I'm going to go to Home Depot and get two 5-gallon buckets (one for rinse, one for suds). I know I ordered duplicates of washer mitt and microfibers but I don't think it would hurt to have extras on hand. Other than that, am I missing anything?
Old 06-28-2008, 01:48 AM

2003 E500 sport
well i think your on the right track but the wax in that kit will not last any where near 6 month's. i have use most of the over couter auto parts store wax's like the nxt megs and mothers and none of them last at all for me.
the longest lasting sealant that i have found is zaino followed by blackfire.