Diesel Forum Forum for Diesel engine vehicle related discussion
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 E300 ODB code P1365

Old 02-22-2016, 01:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 E300 Diesel
97 E300 ODB code P1365

Newbie here to the sight and can see this is the mothership of MB help so thanks
In advance to everyone!
I have a 97 E300 with 137k miles
Upon starting cold glow plug light comes on and then turns off as usual to start.
Then when the car starts, it runs great for a second then starts to run rough, smokes and feels like not all cylinders are igniting. Check engine light comes on and check engine electronics big display and sometimes glow light stays on. Checked with Bosch OBD checker and one fault code comes up: "P 1365 mod $08 Sns 'Ambient prs' in ctrl mod
Motor electronics I"
(Before this had mechanic replace "main relay" and "pre glow relay" within last 6k miles due to other incidences of check engine light.)
After starting I just push on the pedal and drive it and the smoke stops and the car drives fine with warning lights still on. Usually glow plug light goes out.
Anyone have an idea what I would need to do for this? Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails 97 E300 ODB code P1365-image.jpeg  
Old 02-22-2016, 03:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 55 Likes on 52 Posts
2007 W204 220CDI Classic Sedan
You may receive some useful information from here:- http://www.peachparts.com/shopforum/...any-ideas.html
Old 02-22-2016, 03:42 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,019 Likes on 947 Posts
1999 E300TD
Originally Posted by Bob17
Newbie here to the sight and can see this is the mothership of MB help so thanks
In advance to everyone!
I have a 97 E300 with 137k miles
Upon starting cold glow plug light comes on and then turns off as usual to start.