MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   Diesel Forum (https://mbworld.org/forums/diesel-forum-76/)
-   -   Best Year to buy? (https://mbworld.org/forums/diesel-forum/349909-best-year-buy.html)

OnePutt 05-06-2010 04:46 PM

Best Year to buy?

Hi...newbie here, first time post.

I am new to this forum, not to diesels. I have owned a 1980 300SD (love that car...miss that car), 1986 300SDL (Loved the looks, didn't love the drive), I currently own a 2001 Volkswagen Golf TDI (Great for living in San Francisco and running B100:)).

I am looking for a new (well new to me at least) Diesel. I am looking for a W211.

What is the general consensus on the best year to buy? CDI vs. Bluetec (even though the Blue additive isn't required by the E-class) Major differences between the two technologies or was this a rebrand to align w/ the other MB models that do require the additive)?

Any other things I should look out for?

Thanks for the help

TMAllison 05-06-2010 05:36 PM

Biggest differences were:

05-6 were I6 CDI's and got SBC brakes. Proven 10 year engine production run, poor brake design.

07-9 were V6 and SBC was elimnated.

Neither ever had AdBlue in the US W211's.

OnePutt 05-06-2010 06:12 PM

Originally Posted by TMAllison (Post 4063078)
Biggest differences were:

05-6 were I6 CDI's and got SBC brakes. Proven 10 year engine production run, poor brake design.

07-9 were V6 and SBC was elimnated.

Neither ever had AdBlue in the US W211's.

Ahh, I see. Do the 07-09 models have a traditional hydraulic brake system now or is it a modified version of the drive by wire brake system? I can do some searching around. Sounds like I should go w/ an 07 or newer if I don't want to have to replace pads every 20k miles.

Thanks

Maddic 05-07-2010 03:00 AM

07-09 have the new facelift with MY09 has the best command.....check out the link for these MB brochures!