E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

2 weeks old and transmission parts needed

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2005, 07:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2 weeks old and transmission parts needed

Over the two weeks I have had my E320 CDI, it has, on several occassions exhibited jerky transmission problems. Sometimes not changing up a gear when it should. I took it to my MB dealer yesterday and they could not re-create the problem. However, they hooked it up to their diagnostics tools and noticed from the vehicle log that indeed there had been transmission problems. They have told me that they need to order a part for the transmission..some valve assembly that fits beneath the box, that helps change gears (sorry I am not a car techie!!!). I have to go back to get it fitted on the 20th.

Anyone else had similar parts replaced?

Apart from this ..I do love the car..the V6 engine is a beauty//just a shame it needs attention so soon
Old 10-07-2005, 07:54 AM
rjm

Multiple
Originally Posted by latent
Anyone else had similar parts replaced?
E-430 transmission failed at 24,000 miles. Cause was transmission seal leaking fluid into Transmission Control Module. Cost to fix: $3000. If you will do a search you will find a history of transmission problems with MB.
Old 10-07-2005, 01:32 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'05 E320 CDI, '08 BMW X5 4.8i, '11 Duramax 2500HD
I would venture to guess that the tran failure rate on a MB is not better or worse than 95% of the car makers out there.. This site is anecdotal and not a measure of how reliable a car is just because members post a problem.

Here compare the E to the venerable Accord in terms of "reliability" do you see a major problem? I sure don't.

E class Reliability

Accord Reliability

I would have used Lexus, but they had no info on Autobytel.

Last edited by CE750; 10-07-2005 at 01:41 PM.
Old 10-07-2005, 01:50 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!