MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   E-Class (W212) (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212-109/)
-   -   Considering a 2010 E350.... (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212/527244-considering-2010-e350.html)

JonG89 01-12-2014 05:10 PM

Considering a 2010 E350....

Greetings and thanks for taking the time to read this post.

I am considering a 2010 E350 with 27,000 miles and about six months of remaining factory warranty. I've been servicing my own vehicles successfully for more than 30 years but have never owned a Mercedes-Benz. I am concerned about the potential difficulty for self-servicing this car. That said, we own two 2006 Jaguars so I am familiar with wrenching on cars that can be tempermental and somewhat difficult.

From my research this weekend, it appears that Mercedes-Benz tends to be very proprietary with their service documentation making it quite difficult for the typical DIY owner to gain access to the information needed to routinely service these cars. Reading through the E350's Owners Manual, it quickly becomes evident that Mercedes-Benz expects all owners to bring their cars into the dealership for anything beyond filling up the windshield washer fluid reservoir. Sorry M-B, but I won't be doing that.

I would humbly appreciate any input from those of you who DIY your own service on these W212 E-Class cars. Where can I find the necessary service manuals or CD-ROM documentation, and what special scan tools or systems are required?

Just as I could not service our two Jaguars without the guidance from my much-appreciated Jaguar forum, I know I will feel the same way regarding this Mercedes-Benz forum if I decide to purchase this E350.

Thanks again for your kind assistance....

champaign777 01-12-2014 06:55 PM

yap MB is not like BMW or any other car but with right manual it is not a problem at all
you will need to get something like this