E-Class (W212) 2010 - 2016: E 350, E 550

RW Carbon Fiber Mirrors Installed!!!

Old 06-26-2015, 11:15 PM

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
2019 C43 AMG
RW Carbon Fiber Mirrors Installed!!!

Hello MB world!

I finally installed my CF side mirror covers I purchased through Matt from RW Carbon! I couldn't find any "step by step" instructions with pictures on the forums or online, so I decided to post my steps and list what worked for me. One thing I couldn't find was what "star driver size I should get" so after a couple trips to the parts store it was the (T-10) driver lol. Overall, its pretty easy to remove the side mirror cover and switch out the turn signal light.

If anyone has any questions let me know!

My first time doing this so I'm a rookie, I am also not any way shape or form a mechanic...I'm actually a Business Development Rep for a Software company. But hey If I can do it, YOU can do IT!

Thanks to Matt-erhorn's youtube video, Removing the OEM side mirror was a piece of cake!

These are some helpful tools that worked for me: T-10 Star Driver and a "handy removal tool" (pictured in the top right) from Ebay. I used the "handy removal tool" to wedge in between the bottom of the side mirror cover in the front. Just need to separate the small bar part of the mirror cover a few centimeters, Then, wiggle and pull up! NOTE: make sure to adjust the mirrors to line up with the inside housing so the side mirror cover bar thats in front will clear as you pull up.

Now removing the LED strip is easy as well, Use the T-10 driver to unscrew two screws. You'll then want to make sure you pull up from the "skinnier" side, there is adhesive though! but only in the middle part, behind the skinny strip in the middle of the cover. I used the "handy removal tool" to slowly separate the skinny middle part away from the turn signal. I didn't need to use a heat gun, just slowly used that tool to separate. Then pull down and towards you to remove