MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   E-Class (W212) (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212-109/)
-   -   Considering a 2014 E550 – Should I be concerned about the 7G transmission? (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212/653067-considering-2014-e550-o-should-i-concerned-about-7g-transmission.html)

JoeTX 02-13-2017 08:13 PM

Considering a 2014 E550 – Should I be concerned about the 7G transmission?

I’m new to Mercedes and this forum. This is my first post.

I’m considering buying a 2014 E550 coupe with about 38K miles. I haven’t driven this car yet but plan to this coming weekend (2/18). If I like it I’ll get a pre-purchase inspection done by a local independent. It still has 5 months on its original warranty. If all checks good I will buy a MB extended warranty but not sure on the length of coverage though.

After extensive searching in this and other forums the one problem area that has me concerned is the 7G transmission. According to its CarFax this car has gone through quite a few “Engine/powertrain firmware updates” early on in its life. There’s nothing in the CarFax about any other transmission related work being done. It’s had all its required scheduled maintenance.

My questions are:
- Are the 7G’s in the 2014’s still susceptible to the Conductor Plate, Valve Body and TCU issues? (And yes I did read PeterUbers lengthy threads on his experience/ordeal.)

- Is there any way (part number, date of manufacture, firmware version, etc) to distinguish a bad 7G from a good 7G?

- Is the 7G even still a concern?

Thanks in advance.

ItalianJoe1 02-13-2017 08:16 PM

No issues with them...

There are faults that can happen in all the electronics in all of these cars, the transmission is no different. The transmissions have been largely sorted out, well the new ones aren't but you aren't looking at a 9 speed car.