MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   E-Class (W212) (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212-109/)
-   -   Clearing your codes w/OBD2 reader (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w212/736714-clearing-your-codes-w-obd2-reader.html)

Edward993 02-23-2019 11:47 AM

Clearing your codes w/OBD2 reader

Hey all,

I have used my trusty inexpensive OBD2 reader for my other OBD2 cars, but not tried it yet on my 2014 E350: I want to clear the "last service since xxxmiles" pop-up warning message because I do my own oil changes and that silly message bugs me. Before I plug in and clear all codes, is this car "normal" and will respond normally, and the service message will clear? FWIW, I have no experience with these readers other than me reading/clearing codes. TIA! :)

Edward

DFWdude 02-23-2019 12:49 PM

Originally Posted by Edward993 (Post 7688969)
Hey all,

I have used my trusty inexpensive OBD2 reader for my other OBD2 cars, but not tried it yet on my 2014 E350: I want to clear the "last service since xxxmiles" pop-up warning message because I do my own oil changes and that silly message bugs me. Before I plug in and clear all codes, is this car "normal" and will respond normally, and the service message will clear? FWIW, I have no experience with these readers other than me reading/clearing codes. TIA! :)

Edward

You should reset the service interval reminders using the procedure outlined in your Multi-Function display. (Search here for the steps particular to your MY car, or read your manual). You should NOT attempt to reset it using an OBD2 reader.

belarus27 02-23-2019 12:52 PM

https://youtu.be/YoXefpYHoKM

Sunnyslope48 02-23-2019 01:49 PM