MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   E-Class (W213) (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w213-208/)
-   -   Reliability of W213? (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w213/613777-reliability-w213.html)

jeffj2h 01-27-2016 01:37 PM

Reliability of W213?

I've been driving a 2004 Lexus ES330 since I bought it new 12 years ago. I'm considering handing it over to my 16yr old daughter next summer. I really like the new W213.

Given that I've lived with a hassle free car for a dozen years, I'm a little worried, and I'm interested in your opinions as experienced MB owners, what the reliability of the 2017 W213 E-class might be.

Opinions?

I was previously interested in the new C-class, W205, but there are way too many horror stories over on the W205 forum about that car.

Dema 01-27-2016 03:36 PM

I assume it will be a good successor of 212. I can admit that 2014 face lift had amazing reliability. It was first Mercedes I had absolutely zero problem with everything. Lexus is much less reliable car. ES was terrible car, it had very serious problems with brakes, wheels vibration, it aged inside to quick, it looked as 10 years old car just after couple years. LS was a bit better from this stand point, but still no comparison to Mercedes. Mercedes will look like a brand new whatever amount years you own it. And yes, my son is also turning 16 soon. I need a car for him, but I think to get some Honda.

stealth.pilot 01-27-2016 04:54 PM

So far the W213 has been bulletproof. Not a single one sold has broken down.

jeffj2h 01-27-2016 05:16 PM

Originally Posted by Dema (Post 6689827)
ES was terrible car, it had very serious problems with brakes, wheels vibration, it aged inside to quick, it looked as 10 years old car just after couple years.