MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   E-Class (W213) (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w213-208/)
-   -   MBUX vs COMAND NTG 5.5 (https://mbworld.org/forums/e-class-w213/728030-mbux-vs-comand-ntg-5-5-a.html)

Argelius 11-22-2018 01:04 PM

MBUX vs COMAND NTG 5.5

I'm getting pretty close to buying a 2019 E-Class but am intrigued by the upcoming A-Class (admittedly, very different-sized cars).

I'm a tech/gadget nut, so the "all new" MBUX infotainment system looks impressive.

On to my question: how does the current COMAND system (NTG 5.5, I believe) compare to MBUX in terms of menus, graphics and functionality?

My sense is that MBUX does a lot more with voice commands (natural language, etc), which I'm not that interested in since I don't like talking to my car. And I'm assuming that the very cool "virtual reality" overlays for Navigation are specific to the MBUX. Other than that, are there significant differences? Is the current COMAND system antiquated and falling behind the competition?

Thanks for your thoughts!

ua549 11-22-2018 01:30 PM

The COMAND system is antiquated, non-intuitive and lacking in features. The only saving grace is that the voice portion works quite well allowing one to bypass several menu levels to reach a given function. It may seem awkward to speak to your vehicle, but it is much better than trying to select and read menus while driving.

denjermen 11-22-2018 01:39 PM

I second ua549's sentiment. COMAND is very non-intuitive. I haven't played with MBUX so can't tell you if it's any better.:nix:

nycebo 11-22-2018 04:26 PM

A pretty good walk-through
. I really don't love touch screens in cars. I much prefer the tactile feel of buttons or the comand wheel. With a touch screen, it requires much more of a diversion from the road in order to navigate. Then again, this A class also has the comand-like touchpad in the middle console.

ua549 11-22-2018 06:01 PM

+1