Won't start after light accident

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-12-2018, 01:00 PM

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
W213
Won't start after light accident

Hi all!
Bought the car ( W213, 2017, 9K on the clock) from the auction with light front damage, steering wheel, knee, left curtains deployed. Car not starting.
battery flat but when we connect the jump lead the ignition turn ON but nothing else....
can you give any tip what it can be, pyrofuse, srs reset or need propa computer work???
the guy next garage had the same problem, he call some tech with some machine who found the problem and start the engine even with deployed airbags but I won't pay £500 by now if I at list try my own best.
thanks

Old 12-12-2018, 08:17 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
2018 BMW 540d
I'm no expert but it's easy to imagine that cars are designed not to start if the airbags have deployed.Just a guess on my part.
Old 12-13-2018, 01:59 AM

W213
Originally Posted by listerone
I'm no expert but it's easy to imagine that cars are designed not to start if the airbags have deployed.Just a guess on my part.
you are 100% right but there is the way how to fix it, I looking for that way!)
Old 12-13-2018, 04:22 AM

Received 74 Likes on 69 Posts
MY19 E450 4MATIC Coupé
Originally Posted by listerone
Well, I don't like the sound of this.

So, if God forbid I had an accident, airbags deployed, and I switch off the car to get out and inspect the situation (i.e. other car involved, passengers, damage, whatever) then need to start the car and move it to a safer position or on to a recovery truck - this wont be possible? The car cannot be started again?

Doesn't seem too clever to me.

I appreciate that the safety of the car would be compromised without airbags so by all means it could go in to a "limp/recovery" state, restricting engine rpm and overall speed, but it should still start and allow you to maneuver - that's my opinion anyway.
Old 12-13-2018, 09:13 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!