Notices
General Mercedes Discussion Use this forum to discuss general Mercedes-Benz topics that are not specifically model related.

One Crazy Aspiration

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-15-2018, 06:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 C240
One Crazy Aspiration

Hello ladies and gentlemen, pleasure to be here. I must admit that I am new to participating in a vehicle based forum so I apologize ahead of time.

Let me start by saying that I am a heavy duty diesel technician, the vast majority of my work is on Commercial Class 8 vehicles. But I assure you that am an insane gear head all the same. I have a project in mind that I would like to embark on but I have many concerns about it's actual viability and so I have come here to see about gathering knowledge. Mind you, I work for Freightliner, I AM a Daimler employee, so getting parts is not a concern of mine, but weather or not I can make the parts go together is something I'm not sure about.

I currently own a 2005 C240, Sedan, RWD, pearl white, very pretty car. I adore everything about the way this car looks, and we've already had many an adventure together. But I want more bite, and not just a little bit either. I want to build something as insane as I am.

Here's where my head's at.

Firstly, I want to Boost a C320 engine, with a factor turbo, preferably a 35mm in available, and swing it into this car, then I would like to convert it to Manual, a six speed AMG gearbox in that is doable.

Now here's where we go crazy, I would like to take the rear Differential of an SL55 and the axles and put them under this car. That is where the majority of my uncertainty comes from. There may or may not be a road trip from the Red Ball Garage to the Portofino Hotel involved in there at some point.

If anyone knows, please let me know if/how difficult to swap that rear end would be. Is such a massive conversion possibly or should I go looking into using a different differential and rear axle for such a task.