MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   GL Class (X164) (https://mbworld.org/forums/gl-class-x164-77/)
-   -   Replaced Wheel bearing now ABS, ESP inoperative. (https://mbworld.org/forums/gl-class-x164/596116-replaced-wheel-bearing-now-abs-esp-inoperative.html)

isirrug 08-12-2015 10:25 PM

Replaced Wheel bearing now ABS, ESP inoperative.

Good evening,

I am a Noob to MB and have been a lurker on the site for some time. Thanks to all the knowledgeable folks who post useful info.

I have a 2007 GL320 with 44K miles. I had a right front wheel bearing that was groaning so I figured I would replace it before I take a long trip Monday. So my mechanical repair yields and electrical problem?

Last night I changed the right front wheel bearing. I followed this procedure. (If it wasn't so dark I would have taken pics for a write up to help others) Pulled the wheel, spread the caliper about .020/.030", removed the caliper bracket and hung the caliper with mechanics wire (did not open the brake system), removed the wheel speed sensor, removed the rotor, loosened the axle nut, pulled the tie rod and ball joints and removed the knuckle. I pressed out the drive flange, removed the snap ring, pressed out the bearing, pressed in the new bearing by pushing on the outer race, pressed in the drive flange by supporting the inner race and reassembled. Started the car, pumped up the brake before moving.

Everything went well until I started up the street for a test drive. I got about 500-1000 feet and got the infamous ABS, ESP unavailable then a shudder from the front end as I passed about 15 MPH (i assume it was the abs testing itself) then I got the ABS,ESP inoperative error.

Trouble shooting steps that I have taken.
- I checked the wheel speed sensor was seated properly.
- I removed and cleaned the sensor. There was a bit of never seize on it from the axle spline.