MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   GL Class (X164) (https://mbworld.org/forums/gl-class-x164-77/)
-   -   GL450 Mercedes-Benz ML GL 9" - 8.0 Oreo 4GB RAM Navigation System (https://mbworld.org/forums/gl-class-x164/721294-gl450-mercedes-benz-ml-gl-9-8-0-oreo-4gb-ram-navigation-system.html)

Henry Hemphill 09-15-2018 02:35 PM

GL450 Mercedes-Benz ML GL 9" - 8.0 Oreo 4GB RAM Navigation System
 
I learned of this aftermarket radio on this forum. Just wanted to pay it forward. I have a 2007 gl450, which I ordered this Mercedes-Benz ML GL 9" - 8.0 Oreo 4GB RAM Navigation System multimedia navigation head unit for. Had it installed today at PhD electronics in Chicago (22nd and Pulaski rd.). It works like a charm; makes the vehicle look modern and up to date. It's like have an android tablet installed in your vehicle. Highly recommended!

Yup497 09-16-2018 01:16 PM

Any photos? I'm intrigued. Can I keep my satellite radio?

Henry Hemphill 09-16-2018 01:59 PM

I will upload photos when I get home. It's like a cellphone or tablet, so I would image you could download the satellite radio app. But you want need satellite unless you just want it.

Henry Hemphill 09-16-2018 02:44 PM

Aftermarket radio photos
 
https://cimg5.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...3b5118f3b.jpeg
https://cimg6.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...99c4b9268.jpeg
https://cimg7.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...0d5450027.jpeg
https://cimg8.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...1e18b0401.jpeg
https://cimg9.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...04711f2a6.jpeg
https://cimg0.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...2692bf4da.jpeg
https://cimg1.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...2f069fcc9.jpeg
https://cimg2.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...6986cc900.jpeg
https://cimg3.ibsrv.net/gimg/www.mbw...28da98d3f.jpeg

Yup497 09-16-2018 03:17 PM

Looks great! Thanks for posting!

Dinismb 09-16-2018 06:30 PM

If you dont mind sharing, how much did it cost you with installation?

Henry Hemphill 09-16-2018 06:48 PM

Installation
 
The unit is listed on avinusa.com. They bost that itís plug and play. I tried, it was a little more difficult than that. I went to PhD electronics and paid $280 because I also bought the back up camera. Just the head unit is about $150-$180.

The unit nit by itself is $389

PopoySD 09-18-2018 11:04 AM

ordered the same unit too this weekend and I received it yesterday. Super fast shipping! Of course it helps that it came from SoCal and I live in NorCal. I bought all the adapters for the factory back up cam, gps antenna, and microphone. I even got the Carplay adapter. Hopefully it is plug and play for me since I got all the adapters they suggested. I will be installing later this week and sharing photos when I can too. Looking forward to it as I have an android unit on my Nissan Titan and love everything about it.

Dinismb 09-18-2018 01:29 PM


Originally Posted by Henry Hemphill (Post 7555530)
The unit is listed on avinusa.com. They bost that itís plug and play. I tried, it was a little more difficult than that. I went to PhD electronics and paid $280 because I also bought the back up camera. Just the head unit is about $150-$180.

The unit nit by itself is $389

Thats awesome.
The speakers, do they sound the same as stock?
Did you not have a stock backup camera?

KrustyKustom 09-19-2018 10:17 PM

wonder if the steering wheel controls will still work if you get the adaptors?

PopoySD 09-20-2018 02:08 AM

I just installed mine today. I have a 2012 GL550 with the Harman Kardon system. So I got the MOST fiber optic adapter, factory mic adapter, factory back up cam adapter, CarPlay adapter, as well as the factory gps antenna adapter (which I didn't need because the factory plug was compatible wth the unit and snapped right in. Steering wheel controls work pretty well.

The he only thing I couldn't get to work properly was the radio...for the OP, do you know if the place that installed your unit did anything specific to hook up the radio? I can't find a standard radio antenna like I've seen on other cars, and there was one I noticed that may be the radio antenna, but when I plugged it to the back of the unit, there was barely any stations it could pick up.

I didnt finish the the whole thing because nightfall came, but I'll wrap it up tomorrow and take pictures.

Diamondrichlb 12-13-2018 03:25 PM

After an aborted Pioneer install I'm looking at this unit. https://avinusa.com/mercedes-benz-ml...on-system.html

I'm told I can connect wirelessly via wifi with an iPhone and use Airplay or wired with the Carplay adaptor. I prefer wireless connection, but would like to know if the unit 'remembers' the Airplay hookup each time the car is started or if it requires steps to connect via Airplay?

Anyone have experience with this?

Iceytys 12-19-2018 10:45 AM

Bought and installed this same unit (w/ back up camera, factory mic, and HK Fiber adaptor) and did the install myself over the weekend, and so far I love it. Great upgrade....unit works flawless and sounds great. Most of all I can stream video (espn, news, games, movies, etc) while sitting in traffic... highly recommended. Only issues thus far is no FM reception, but I am pretty sure I figured out why and have an adapter on the way. You lose a bit of functionality from the Command center, like Nav info doesnt show up in the center display. I use Waze now, so who cares?!?!?! Also you can no longer broadcast video to the rear monitors, but whatever. Its all about the first class (not coach) seats in my GL anyway.....LOL.

Definitely worth the money, and the install was pretty much plug in play, didnt have to cut 1 wire.

Diamondrichlb 12-19-2018 04:04 PM


Originally Posted by Iceytys (Post 7633879)
Bought and installed this same unit (w/ back up camera, factory mic, and HK Fiber adaptor) and did the install myself over the weekend, and so far I love it. Great upgrade....unit works flawless and sounds great. Most of all I can stream video (espn, news, games, movies, etc) while sitting in traffic... highly recommended. Only issues thus far is no FM reception, but I am pretty sure I figured out why and have an adapter on the way. You lose a bit of functionality from the Command center, like Nav info doesnt show up in the center display. I use Waze now, so who cares?!?!?! Also you can no longer broadcast video to the rear monitors, but whatever. Its all about the first class (not coach) seats in my GL anyway.....LOL.

Definitely worth the money, and the install was pretty much plug in play, didnt have to cut 1 wire.

Great that itís working for you. What type phone are you using? Android or IOS?

Iceytys 12-19-2018 04:07 PM

Well an Android of course! :wootrock:

Diamondrichlb 12-19-2018 04:13 PM

Of course. I’m going to try it with IOS

Diamondrichlb 12-19-2018 07:22 PM

Installed the unit.

Can't get the backup camera or microphone to work. I'm using the supplied pigtails purchased from AVIN. When car put in reverse, the backup camera is showing as a black screen with a small square with a triangle inside that with an ! inside that.

Can you tell me what inputs you used on the head unit and the car to get these 2 devices to work?

rich30769 12-19-2018 10:37 PM

Only issues thus far is no FM reception, but I am pretty sure I figured out why and have an adapter on the way.

Definitely worth the money, and the install was pretty much plug in play, didnt have to cut 1 wire.[/QUOTE]

If you figure out why you don't have FM reception, please pass it along. Most of us that installed this unit lost our FM reception.

rich30769 12-19-2018 10:40 PM


Originally Posted by Diamondrichlb (Post 7634311)
Installed the unit.

Can't get the backup camera or microphone to work. I'm using the supplied pigtails purchased from AVIN. When car put in reverse, the backup camera is showing as a black screen with a small square with a triangle inside that with an ! inside that.

Can you tell me what inputs you used on the head unit and the car to get these 2 devices to work?

Mic seems to be hit, or miss. It works for some people but, not for others. Also, I'm having a bit of an issue connecting to my phones hotspot. Sometime it connects right away, sometimes it takes minutes to connect.

Diamondrichlb 12-20-2018 01:13 AM

There was a note in my install that said Amp-Com had to connect to Ant. Did you make that connection? When my harness came in the Amp-Con was connected to another Amp-con

Diamondrichlb 12-20-2018 01:18 AM

My iPhone is connecting via A2DP. There is an icon for that connection on the second page. I don't understand all I know about this entire hookup yet. I just installed it today.

I need the microphone and backup camera. Today, someone who should know, told me I might have to pull a new wire for the backup camera. Not good. I specifically ask about the camera and microphone before I bought the unit.

rich30769 12-20-2018 09:58 AM


Originally Posted by Diamondrichlb (Post 7634518)
There was a note in my install that said Amp-Com had to connect to Ant. Did you make that connection? When my harness came in the Amp-Con was connected to another Amp-con

Yes, I have FM reception "sometimes" but definitely not like I should. If you remember the COMAND system has 2 farka inputs, this radio has 2 BUT, 1 is empty. That seems to be the problem

rich30769 12-20-2018 10:00 AM


Originally Posted by Diamondrichlb (Post 7634520)
My iPhone is connecting via A2DP. There is an icon for that connection on the second page. I don't understand all I know about this entire hookup yet. I just installed it today.

I need the microphone and backup camera. Today, someone who should know, told me I might have to pull a new wire for the backup camera. Not good. I specifically ask about the camera and microphone before I bought the unit.

My Android is connected to A2DP also, I can't hear the phone through the speaker system so, I end up using the phones speaker to answer my calls which defeats the hand free option.
As for the rear view camera, I got lucky and mine works with the adapter they sent me. There's a lot of hit, or miss with this radio.
I previously emailed AVIN with my issues and their solution to me was to return the radio for a full refund. Of course they want every little single box, styrofoam, twisty and whatever else came in the box back also. I happen to have all of that but, decided to just keep the system and deal with the phone and delay in connectivity issues. :nix:

Diamondrichlb 12-20-2018 02:16 PM

As I understand it, the FM antenna is the wire in the rear window. Not sure why that would be intermittent. You would think it would work or not.

I get the phone conversation over the car speakers, just no microphone production.

Still waiting for any response from AVIN after yesterday’s questions.

i like the unit. Looks good. Better than the Pioneer4400, in my opinion. I also like the connectivity between the phone and the unit.

I need my backup camera and microphone and don’t really want to pull wires to get it. Aaarrrggg

rich30769 12-20-2018 04:22 PM


Originally Posted by Diamondrichlb (Post 7634932)
As I understand it, the FM antenna is the wire in the rear window. Not sure why that would be intermittent. You would think it would work or not.

I get the phone conversation over the car speakers, just no microphone production.

Still waiting for any response from AVIN after yesterdayís questions.

i like the unit. Looks good. Better than the Pioneer4400, in my opinion. I also like the connectivity between the phone and the unit.

I need my backup camera and microphone and donít really want to pull wires to get it. Aaarrrggg

I definitely feel your pain and agree about how it updates the look of the cabin. I'm not sure if there's an update out for a lot of these issues, or not. I'm positive that there isn't


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 AM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands