MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   GLC Class (X253 ) (https://mbworld.org/forums/glc-class-x253-203/)
-   -   '43: Drive position indicator in cluster (https://mbworld.org/forums/glc-class-x253/659082-43-drive-position-indicator-cluster.html)

Skizz 03-14-2017 05:06 PM

'43: Drive position indicator in cluster
 
My '43 is four days old (to me) and I'm still trudging through the manual. I did notice something tho and wanted to know if other '43 owners say it's the way it is: I drove two GLC 300 loaners and one GLE 350 from the dealer over time and all had the gear number displayed in the drive position indicator in the cluster. In other words, the box that had "D" also had the current gear, such as "D3" or "D7", etc. In my '43, it just displays "D" with no indication of tranny's current gear selection. The tech guy at the dealer says he never noticed, and then began surmising that it's because it's AMG and it only shows current gear in manual mode, or that it must be that it's the 9-speed and therefore doesn't display.


GLC43 owners: Is this consistent with your experience, or do I just have a setting wrong? And I have checked the manual, but I miss a lot in there.


Thanks.

guhvies 03-14-2017 05:12 PM

I'm not a GLC owner, I've got a C43 but I think this still applies. Mine does the same thing but shows the gear when I manually shift. After a while it goes back to just showing D. Having said that, I'm in E or C mode. As I'm still under 1000 miles I've not switched to S or S+. Maybe it might be different then.

Skizz 03-14-2017 05:14 PM

Nah. On mine, it's the same in E, D, S, S+ or I. Unless in manual, no gear selection indication. Dumb.

rihallix 03-14-2017 06:55 PM

Switch to the AMG menu and it shows you the current gear and digia speed (GLC43 only) plus boost.

a nice touch is that the temp gauges both display digital temperatures in blue when under normal, white when normal (and I assume red if above normal)

Skizz 03-14-2017 06:58 PM

Yeah, I got to that, I was just wondering if the glc43 is different from other GLC's (and other MB's for that matter) in this regard; whether or not I had a setting turned off. I was kind of surprised that MB chose to bury this in a sub menu on the '43.
Thanks for the input.

Andy B 03-14-2017 07:00 PM


Originally Posted by Skizz (Post 7084173)
Nah. On mine, it's the same in E, D, S, S+ or I. Unless in manual, no gear selection indication. Dumb.

The only way I've found to show gear selection is to scroll through menu on screen (one behind steering wheel) to the amg setting and one of the displays within amg shows speed, gear and temps

Mr. J 03-15-2017 04:49 PM

If you have the HUD you can display it there along with the tach.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:45 AM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands