GLC63s, GLC63, GLC43 AMG SUV and Coupe (X253, C253) 2015 - Present

glc 43 for hpde

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-19-2017, 06:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
lotus elise
glc 43 for hpde

hi all. newbie here who wants to get a glc43 as daily driver that can be used for 2-3 hpde events/year. im an experienced instructor who usually tracks a lotus elise but there are times when weather is bad or i need to take people with me, etc that lotus doesnt work for me. thats where glc would come in.

i tested one on street along with macan gts and bmw x4m and like the amg best. but can i trust it to last on track? i know the macan would hold up. i have instructed students in gle63 that did fine but never saw a glc. i would obviously not push it like i would a sports car, would give it cool down laps in middle of session, etc.

anyone here with glc track experience? ever see one on track? should i get tried and true macan instead? btw, considered alfa stelvio qf but impossible to get dealer to order me one.

thanks
Old 11-19-2017, 11:36 PM

Received 31 Likes on 21 Posts
Hey there. I saw one of your other posts mentioning the same questions.
I haven't had a track car for a few years, but have done about 20 track days over the last 10yrs.
A few weekends ago I took my son to a safe driving course that was held at a racetrack. Most of what we did was more autocross style with road cones in the parking lot, with a few slower speed laps on the track at the end (cold and wet, was actually snowing but not sticking)
I was surprised at how well the GLC handled. It was surprisingly competent and with the suspension in its firmest setting stays relatively flat in the corners.
There had been a few others there with the GLC43 a few weekends before for a track day and the staff there said they were really impressed with how well it handles for an SUV. (Apparently there was one corner where it would always be on 3 wheels, lol)