MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   GLE Class (W166) (https://mbworld.org/forums/gle-class-w166-206/)
-   -   GLE350 security (https://mbworld.org/forums/gle-class-w166/747880-gle350-security.html)

JunotsGLE 06-18-2019 12:19 PM

GLE350 security

So this is my first time posting in this forum. Please let me know if this is in the wrong place.
It's also the first MB we've ever owned. It's a 2016 GLE350. We've had it a few months and we really love it. Lots of power, and rides like a dream.
I do have a question, though. I've read thru the owners manual (print and on-line) and I can't find the answer.
When the vehicle is parked and locked and the key fob is not near the vehicle you can still open the doors. Of course the alarm goes off and you have to clear the alarm with the fob. This seems to me to be kinda strange that if the car is locked you can still open the door. We always lock the door when we exit by touching the spot on the handle. The doors lock, the mirrors fold in and the horn beeps.
Is there a setting I'm missing?
Thanks in advance. I've been a member of other forum groups for other vehicles we've owned and they have been a really good source of info. Hope this forum is too!

ygmn 06-18-2019 01:03 PM

where is key?
How far away?

chassis 06-18-2019 01:07 PM

Please define “not near the vehicle”.

JunotsGLE 06-18-2019 01:23 PM

Car was under the car port, key was inside the house about 15 - 20 feet away, and through a brick wall.

ygmn 06-18-2019 01:57 PM

try moving key further away or inside a metal coffe can.

threeMBs 06-18-2019 02:02 PM

Originally Posted by JunotsGLE (Post 7782065)
Car was under the car port, key was inside the house about 15 - 20 feet away, and through a brick wall.