MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   GLK-Class (X204) (https://mbworld.org/forums/glk-class-x204-94/)
-   -   Premium Gasoline and Octane Question (https://mbworld.org/forums/glk-class-x204/742785-premium-gasoline-octane-question.html)

deneb 04-24-2019 11:27 AM

Premium Gasoline and Octane Question

Greetings,

Mercedes newbie here, and I did not start reading the owners manual* until after I gassed up the car with 87. I do not know what fuel the previous owners used, but from what I am reading, it is in my best interesting putting in premium fuel from now on.

My question is - since I have a full tank of 87, or if I find myself in a place where I cannot get premium gas, can I use a can of octane boosting product?

Thanks!
deneb

* This is the first owners manual that I have read cover-to-cover for any vehicle.

Mmr1 04-24-2019 12:26 PM

Do you notice engine knocking? You would hear it on acceleration, sometimes it’s hard to hear and I have to open a window and drive close to a building , like down an alley. Alcohol boosts octane a bit, it’s in cans of Heat that you see at stations. If your accelerating easy and hear no knocking ,I’d say just put in high octane gas after your down a few gallons. If you do hear it use an octane booster. Pre ignition isn’t good.

ygmn 04-24-2019 12:28 PM

Engine will adjust for lower octane fuel by sensing knocking... and will adjust timing to suit... which reduces power.

Just fill up next time with Premium if you can.

deneb 04-24-2019 12:52 PM