MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   M-Class (W163) (https://mbworld.org/forums/m-class-w163-10/)
-   -   Help! 02 ML320 Questions (https://mbworld.org/forums/m-class-w163/145986-help-02-ml320-questions.html)

JenGeeML320 04-25-2006 07:47 PM

Help! 02 ML320 Questions

:wall: Hello,
I am new to this post and need your expertise. I am a first time owner of an 02 ML320. I purchased my MB from a non MB dealer and feel they are not familar with these cars at all. I returned the car to the dealer because the car idles loudly, the rear wiper turns on when I am in reverse, and the brakes are low. Is this normal? Please advise. Thanks in advance.:wall:

cyeung65 04-25-2006 08:00 PM

Originally Posted by JenGeeML320
:wall: Hello,
I am new to this post and need your expertise. I am a first time owner of an 02 ML320. I purchased my MB from a non MB dealer and feel they are not familar with these cars at all. I returned the car to the dealer because the car idles loudly, the rear wiper turns on when I am in reverse, and the brakes are low. Is this normal? Please advise. Thanks in advance.:wall:

Glad to help, being the original owner of an 00.
But please elaborate:
idles loudly - is it a clackety sound you are concerned with? There are many ML320s with bad valve lifters. Mine clacks on occasion when starting up dry, low oil.
Rear wiper turn on in reverse - most likely the rear wiper is in the pulse position.
Brakes are low - the worst thing about the MLs are the brakes, they require a lot of travel and never feel "hard" - since day one. I believe this is prevalant in many MB models with the BAS.

AsianML 04-25-2006 08:07 PM

Also to add to the wipers part. I don't know if the per-02's had it, but if the front wipers are on, the rear wipers will activate automatically if you put it in reverse. Neat little feature.

PHML 04-26-2006 06:11 AM

Originally Posted by AsianML