MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   M-Class (W166) (https://mbworld.org/forums/m-class-w166-149/)
-   -   2012 ml350 bluetec already needing new front differential.. (https://mbworld.org/forums/m-class-w166/529412-2012-ml350-bluetec-already-needing-new-front-differential.html)

audimotion 01-30-2014 07:42 PM

2012 ml350 bluetec already needing new front differential..

I'm new to this particular forum, but have been a member for many years to others, and thought it was time to join mbworld, as this it seems to get quite a bit more traffic.

We just replaced our fully optioned 2006 ml500 (which was a rock solid vehicle for us) with a CPO 2012 ml350 bluetec about 6 weeks ago. Since taking delivery of the bluetec, it has been in the shop numerous time for a total of 3 weeks. The 3rd day of ownership it needed the oil cooler replaced. then the drivers seat bottom, 2 nox sensors, subwoofer, headliner replaced, and a couple other "issues". Took it back to dealer yesterday as the check engine light came on again, and I requested the technician drive the vehicle and listen for a faint, but noticeable whine noise that could be heard from the drivetrain while under load. Got the call later in the day that the front diff. is toast. After draining the fluid, they noticed metal shavings and fines in the fluid. Dealer ordered a new one from germany and it should be here sometime next week.

This is all too familiar, as our ml500 had a bad front diff at about the same miles (38k). I really thought that mercedes addressed the bad differntial bearings with the late model w164
and surely with the w166. Hopefully ours is a rare occurrence.

Has anyone else had a differential or oil cooler replaced on their w166 bluetec? Im thankful for the warranty....and cpo after.

Baloo588 02-14-2014 10:30 PM