MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   New Members Check In! (https://mbworld.org/forums/new-members-check-179/)
-   -   Hi all! Question from a first timer.. (https://mbworld.org/forums/new-members-check/745074-hi-all-question-first-timer.html)

Lorib 05-19-2019 05:58 PM

Hi all! Question from a first timer..

I am in the market for a used convertible. I thought I decided on either a preowned C or E class, probably a 2016/17. This is a big deal for me, for so many reasons, but people are making me nervous about reliability. This would be preowned, which, to begin with, I've never done before, and also quite a bit more luxurious than I've treated myself to in the past.

I'd love to hear honest comments on the upkeep (other than normal maintenance) of either of these models.

Thanks!
Lorib

chassis 05-19-2019 07:58 PM

Welcome! Congratulations on the new vehicle search.

Do do lots of homework. People on this site can help.

General, not C- or E-Class specific comments:

-avoid diesel models because of well documented reliability problems with emissions related components

- avoid high performance models because of generally higher maintenance expense, and because they may have been driven over-aggressively by the previous owner. Conversely if you want a high performance version, be aware of higher maintenance costs.

- seek a model with remaining factory warranty. For Mercedes-Benz, this is 4 years or 50,000 miles. Certified Preowned (CPO) cars often include some additional warranty coverage beyond 4/50,000 as part of the purchase price.

- buy from a Mercedes dealer if possible, they know these cars best