S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

2016 S550

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-30-2018, 11:19 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2016 S550
2016 S550

Overall, I am happy with my S550 with a few caveats.
I have 13,000 miles on the car and have worn out the first set of Pirelli PZeros. I am a pretty gentle driver but for the tires to have run down that quickly is ridiculous. Do owners with the “standard” 19 inch wheel/tire combination have the same limited tire life? If bought another S class, I would stay away from the AMG wheels and Pirelli tires.
Second, my AC went out last month which the dealership traced to a defective O ring(they ran dye through the system to find the leak).
About a week ago my check engine light went on, I tried tightening the fuel cap to no avail. The car runs normally otherwise. I will have to bring it in again although I figure that it is a bad sensor.
Finally, I had to have the door panel mended because the pleather trim was starting to peel off the interior door handle. A private firm affiliated with the dealership fixed for $122(MB refused to fix it because they claimed that it was a wear and tear item).
I love the ride,power and general workmanship of the car but I feel that they could have done a lot better. I purchased the car new in July 2016 for $114,000+ttl.
Are my expectations unrealistic? My wife has a 2016 Infiniti QX80 with about 15k on the odometer and nothing has gone wrong and the tires look new!
Old 05-31-2018, 06:50 AM

Received 71 Likes on 54 Posts
Corvette C8 997S, Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit Reserve BMW 750 S560 Coupe
P Zeros are high performance tires, I would be lucky to get that much on any of my sports cars. Try all season tires next time, you get more life out of those.
Old 05-31-2018, 07:11 AM
MBWorld God!

Received 3,353 Likes on 2,807 Posts
2012 CLS63