S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

2000 S430 Airmatic Misadventures. Not sure which direction to go.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-20-2020, 10:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 S430
2000 S430 Airmatic Misadventures. Not sure which direction to go.

Hello everyone, new here. I've had my 2000 S430 since December 2019, got a good deal on it and thought I'd buy it to daily drive a year or two or hell even three. Despite the fact that I really like this car, I'm getting really frustrated fighting the airmatic. Details below.

I've been fighting the air suspension of this car since I bought it a few months ago, and without access to SDS I am getting very worn out fighting with it. So this has me considering switching to coilovers so I don't have to deal with this headache anymore. I'm currently fighting an air compressor that sometimes works and sometimes doesn't, coupled with the fact that it won't even raise the car properly. I've done soapy water tests (shocks are fine), rebuilt the compressor today, swapped the valve block twice (finally have a working one). I have to swap the connector tomorrow from the car's wiring harness that plugs into the compressor because one of the leads was molten and seized. I have bare wires currently under the car because I cut the connection. If all that fails, and I can't get this airmatic to work...I think I'll be swapping to coilovers before I spend more money on a new compressor just to find another problem.

My research has brought me to a couple of options which I will list:

1. Ceika Coilovers - Seems like the best choice, and are the best price at about $1100. I've already contacted them regarding stock and shipping. They have adjustable height which is nice and presumably adjustable dampening, and a few other options on their page while ordering. Are these worth it? I'd love to have adjustable coilovers.