S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

Mercedes (nicely) told me to pound sand

Old 05-17-2018, 03:31 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
2016 S550 4 Matic Sport, 2015 BMW 528xi, 2012 BMW 528xi (gone), 2011 BMW Z4 (Yellow - gone)
Mercedes (nicely) told me to pound sand

My CPO was in the shop for 19 days for a tranny repair. i had the thing for a month.
Corporate finally got back to me - upshot? Since the car was sold from Oregon (and shipped to NJ) they say i'm under the Oregon lemon law - which really stinks - oregon says "no lemon law for used cars"
NJ does.
I'm a lawyer and i am not sure about that, but i asked a lawyer tenant who has handled lemon law cases if that's correct.
regardless, i nicely mentioned to the nice customer service exec that this would be my last mercedes. the slogan is, "the best or nothing' yet they sold me a car with a defective transmission.
she said the oregon lemon law said no used cars, and the best they could do is a $400 service credit. sigh.
when i mentioned it would be my last benz she didn't quite yawn, but not much else.
so, yes, they stand by their cars with the warranties (i bought extended) but no, they don't care if you threaten to never get another one (i asked for a credit towards my next purchase) - nope!
thought i'd share.
final comment - i was on the fence if given a choice, would i go for a new 2018 or stay with my 29k miles 2016. the trunk on mine is much larger, and i'm reading some good and some less than good things about the 2018 versus the 2016 (or even 2015 or 2014) - not sure i'd switch, and at least now i don't have to make the decision. but i DO feel rankled.
okay, done with rant.
Old 05-17-2018, 03:56 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 290 Likes on 201 Posts
2022 EQS580
Originally Posted by garygnu
My CPO was in the shop for 19 days for a tranny repair. i had the thing for a month.