R-Class (W251) Produced 2006-2013: R320CDI, R350, R420CDI, R500

2011 R350 won’t crank

Old 11-10-2018, 06:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2011 Mercedes R350
2011 R350 won’t crank

About two weeks ago when I got home I turned off my car off as usual. When I decided to leave later that evening I walked out to my car and unlock the doors and got in and my internal light came on. I was also able to turn my radio on. When I stuck the key into the ignition I was able to turn the key and all four positions but it wouldn’t crank. It didn’t make any sounds at all. I checked all my fuses and fuel supplies. I had someone try to jump my car off thinking maybe the battery was low. Nothing worked. I started looking though posts and thought maybe it was the ESL.. but that’s mostly in C Class. What could this be? I have little knowledge about cars and have no clue what to do. I’m hoping dealership is my last option. Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 11-13-2018, 09:36 AM

Received 46 Likes on 43 Posts
R320, Astro, JSW, ST4
If your dashboard/warning lights are not coming on at the Run position, this is likely:
A flaky bit of cold-soldering within the EIS module (where your keys goes)
, Or a broken coil in the key - has it been dropped many times?

Aside from dealer replacement, or DIY repair, lots of folks live with flaky EIS / workaround it by trying:
- Try to start (fail), remove key for a couple seconds then retry (succeed) - my wife swears this always works for her.
- Try to start (fail), remove for a second, manually lock the doors, retry (succeed) - my method. Resets the security system.
The EIS module stimulates an infrared signal from the key through the red aperture in the end.

From other posts I've read, the EIS issue seems to be more common in hot weather. It first surfaced for us summer before last at church.
I begged a jump-start, which seemed to fix it, but it turned out was enough delay for the retry to work.