MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) (https://mbworld.org/forums/sl55-amg-sl63-amg-sl65-amg-r230-49/)
-   -   SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Brake Pad replacement - True or false question (https://mbworld.org/forums/sl55-amg-sl63-amg-sl65-amg-r230/385645-brake-pad-replacement-true-false-question.html)

Sg45 02-01-2011 10:21 AM

Brake Pad replacement - True or false question

I am getting the brake wear indicator on my dash of my 2007 SL550. I scheduled an appointment with a very reputable independent mechanic to get my pads replaced and he said you always need to change out the rotors and wear sensors when you do the pads. My car has 24,600 miles on it.

So true of false, you always change the rotors with the pads?

iAMGod 02-01-2011 10:48 AM

Ahh no....im no mechanic but never in my history have I ever heard of doing that especially at such low miles. Your rotors should last a lot longer than your pads.

ohlord 02-01-2011 11:42 AM

Dealers and some

shops would follow the book and r/r rotors. Even if they were perfectly smooth just to avoid any issues with call backs if noise or other issues cropped up
in addition to the profit motive of course:)
So if they are smooth and no ridges you can get another use out of the fronts and most people several uses out of the rears.
Since mb rotors don't have much in the way of excess they can't be resurfaced
That is why they need to be replaced if not perfect.
And yes the wear sensors need to be replaced but they are only a few bucks each
Why not diy?

CA_E55 02-01-2011 01:04 PM

The bigger question is - why do you need to replace the pads after 24K miles? Did you track the car? If you didn't, take the wheels off and check the pads with a flashlight - maybe it's the sensor, not the pads?