W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I know there's a lot of concern over failed airmatic components - are there any

Search this Thread

Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average.

Old 08-24-2015, 03:05 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2010 E63
Originally Posted by StarvingArtist
Sounds like the valve block, but I'm no expert--I just read a lot of posts.
After further investigation and diagnosis it's probably either this or the compressor. Managed to catch the car dropping today and was able to get to the shop to scan for codes. Cancelled my air spring order for now while I wait back to hear the verdict.
Old 08-24-2015, 09:56 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 60 Likes on 42 Posts
'06 E55, '15 Jeep SRT8, '94 Mustang GT
Over the past 4-6 weeks, I have thought that my car was not sitting correctly or was leaning to the side. After arriving home last week, I discovered that my passenger front was sitting much lower than the other side. However, I did not have any dash warnings. I was able to raise it, then re-lower and it sat fine. Today I took the car out and the same corner sagged the entire time I was out, but still had no dash warnings. So, what do you guys think? Strut or valve block? The driver's front strut was replaced ~20 months ago.

Old 08-25-2015, 05:32 AM

Received 50 Likes on 35 Posts
Mercedes CLS 55 AMG
Check the pressures with STAR. Put the car in "raised mode" and pressure the strut via the diagnostics. It's apparent when it's leaking because it doesn't hold the same values as the other side.
Old 08-29-2015, 01:47 PM

2010 E63
I think I had multiple issues going on with the Airmatic. This week I replaced (rather, I paid the shop to replace) the compressor, relay, valve block, and some miscellaneous filters/hoses in the system. After almost 12 years it was probably time anyway. A little under $1200 out the door.