MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   W211 AMG (https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg-81/)
-   -   *** VRP 82mm TB *** (https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/283759-vrp-82mm-tb.html)

vrus 02-21-2009 11:08 AM

*** VRP 82mm TB ***

I had alot of fun doing the original 80mm TB upgrade kit a few years ago but with the power levels that these cars are starting to get to, we need a little more.. :)

I have been playing with a new Throttle body for a few months now and am coming close to putting a kit together.

Just to provide some historical information:

- The stock throttle body on the 55K cars had a throttle plate diameter of 74mm.

- The "80mm Throttle body kit" has a throttle plate diameter of 78mm so it should really be referred to as a 78mm throttle body. The reason I have been calling it 80mm from the get go was because in the MB catalogue that is how it was referred. This "80mm" TB came in 6 different variants which popped up in various MB models.

A few drawbacks on the "80mm" TB were:

- wall thickness was very thin so boring out the diameter was not possible
- electronics were epoxied so that the case could not be dismantled in order to do any boring or modification

This new 82mm throttle body is a true dimension and here are a few details:

- The throttle plate is 82mm
- The Inner diameter of the opening is 84mm
- The wall thickness is double the previous 80mm which allows another 2mm increases in bore size
- The electronics are NOT epoxied which makes further upgrades possible.

One advantage that this will provide is that we could get a CNC'd 90mm TB housing created or even 100mm for that matter and transfer the electronics over. Hmm.. now that I am thinking about it.. How about a 100mm Oval TB like the kenne bell setup? :)