W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63

New to me E55 on Friday!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-27-2010, 10:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E55
Smile New to me E55 on Friday!

Thanks for a great forum!. After much consideration I have settled on a new car. Found a 35K mile CPO 06 E55 for a good price. Friend of mine works for MB and checked the service history which appears all clean. Black/Charcoal. Flying out to pick it up on Friday.

I drove multiple M5s of the same vintage. The SMG transmission is extremely awkward and the lack of torque was annyoing in town. My wife needs the auto, and the e55 solves all that + seems to be more relaible to boot!

Any thoughts on items I shoud be sure not to miss in the inspection besides teh S/C pulley, rear airbags and seat bolsters?

I have a 14 hour drive home. Any suggestions on things I shoud play with?

I am an ASE certified technician, although I have a "desk job" that pays the bills. Can't wait to get this thing up on the lift and have a look. I have a 700 hp Chevy II that I drag race and ran SCCA for 13 years in a formula car, so I am OK with the power. Will be refreshing to be able to drive it to work though!

Thanks again for a great forum. Will post some pics when I get it home.

Greg
Old 04-27-2010, 10:46 PM

'04 E55 AMG
congrats. i have been trying to find myself an e55 but no luck. been looking for one since January. i work at volvo/mb and we've only had e63s come thru.
Old 04-27-2010, 10:47 PM

2006 E55, 06 Range Rover SC, 99 Vette, 86 Callaway Vette, 04 Super-Comp Vette (retired)
Originally Posted by GDB - E55
Thanks for a great forum!. After much consideration I have settled on a new car. Found a 35K mile CPO 06 E55 for a good price. Friend of mine works for MB and checked the service history which appears all clean. Black/Charcoal. Flying out to pick it up on Friday.