Sponsored by:

Upgrade guide / FAQ?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-20-2012, 05:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E55 AMG
Upgrade guide / FAQ?

Hello everyone, I'm new to MBworld but a long time performance nut. The E55 will be another car in a long line of cars I have modified. I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of a good performance upgrade guide or FAQ.

I see the DIY thread up top and that is great but im looking for a good guide. I have my own source for ECU tuning so im really looking for a good place for hard parts and the order in which they should be done. Ie pulley (size options) heat exchanger, maybe one of these upgraded pumps I have been reading about etc etc.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

THANKS!

Eric
Old 02-20-2012, 05:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
a Rivera...via a Custom 24, Strat and Les Paul
Originally Posted by FI Fan
Hello everyone, I'm new to MBworld but a long time performance nut. The E55 will be another car in a long line of cars I have modified. I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of a good performance upgrade guide or FAQ.

I see the DIY thread up top and that is great but im looking for a good guide. I have my own source for ECU tuning so im really looking for a good place for hard parts and the order in which they should be done. Ie pulley (size options) heat exchanger, maybe one of these upgraded pumps I have been reading about etc etc.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated.

THANKS!

Eric
Like the intro: here's my own personal opinion: 1) headers, tune and pump first (opens up the top end - when I threw them on - didn't realize how much of a brick wall I was hitting with the stockers) 2) pulley (if it's going to be a daily or see primarily street duty - no need go above 168) 3) cooling mods (Heat exchanger) - these will get you in the 500whp range and low 11's on DR's in the right conditions and track.

After that

Fueling (throttle body, rail, injectors - etc)