MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   W211 AMG (https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg-81/)
-   -   The Full Story On Adjusters & Cams (https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/598464-full-story-adjusters-cams.html)

layzie12g 09-03-2015 04:56 PM

The Full Story On Adjusters & Cams

I originally posted this in the C63 part of the forum, but I know most of the tech guys are here. Since it applies to E63s also, I thought I would put it in this section as well.

I think we should do the best we can to clear this issue up.

I am a Benz tech and have done cams, lifters, and adjusters on the 6.2. I have seen the cam/lifter failure on engines that should be okay per their engine vin number, but they are suffered the failure. When your getting the constant valve train noise, remove the valve cover, and take a look. It is a pretty easy one to figure out.

Cam adjusters on the other hand have me wondering what is "normal" and what would be considered problematic. I know these cars when new did not make the chatter on start. This is for sure. I have done all four adjusters on an E63 with 100k on it, and I would get 20 degrees of crank rotation before the intake cams would move. New adjusters and the engine stayed in time. Also this engine would pass the adjuster test using an SDS before the adjusters were replaced.

Has anyone had catastrophic engine failure due to a cam adjuster on a 6.2? My car has 108k on it and will occasionally make adjuster noise on start. It will never do it for more then a second. It seems people are having adjusters replaced, and then a few thousand miles later are having noise again.

I have read the L.I. documents, but would like to get some feedback from MB techs or people who have first hand experience. On a side note, I'm also curious if the adjusters not fully advancing timing is the reason some 63s make much more or less power then an identically modified car.

Lets hear what you guys think.