W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Launching with slicks, looking for tips from the pros pls!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-14-2017, 11:16 PM

Received 137 Likes on 110 Posts
2005 E55
Launching with slicks, looking for tips from the pros pls!

Tomorrow it's track time, and it's my first time with slicks. (Hoosier 255/50/16 DR2s)
I can find lots of info for launching on streets through the search but not for slicks, if any of the vets could give me some tips it would be much appreciated

Burn out on the DR2: My guess would be a couple seconds long? I have the burn out down on streets, is it different on the DRs? I feather the break a little, turn TC off and giver some gas.

Launch: On streets the consensus is raised suspension, sport mode, TC on. Any different with the slicks, maybe TC off?

Any other drag racing tips much appreciated. Never raced with slicks before, thanks guys!
Old 09-15-2017, 12:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 166 Likes on 137 Posts
2019 Jeep Trackhawk, 2002 CLK55, 2014 911 Carrera
What are your mods? How quick do you expect to go? For reference, I have been running 11.40's with 1.68-ish 60' times on those tires.

Just last weekend I ran the tires at 27psi on a prepped track and picked up over .5MPH over running them at 19psi, with no negative effects on my 60' time.

Traction Control should be OFF. I would suggest starting with the pressure up around 30psi and lower it by 2-3psi each run until it dead-hooks. I do a pretty short burnout. Leave the tranny in S mode, stall up to about 1200-1500 rpm at the light, and smash the pedal at the last amber.

If you still have the airmatic suspension, I would leave it sport I or II. I never saw any difference between the modes when I had it, so I doubt it makes much difference either way.

Good luck and keep us posted! (let's see some pics too!)

Last edited by JoeJErnst; 09-15-2017 at 12:10 PM. Reason: forgot to mention TC off